The True Lives of the Fabulous Killjoys.

My Chemical Romance Split – thoughts on their break up.

One week ago, one of my favorite bands announced they had split up. Twitter exploded with responses from fans, most saying how gutted they were that they broke up. What I don’t understand is WHY they broke up?! I saw the official release on their website but they didn’t give a reason and I think that’s what the vast majority of the fan base are struggling with!

‘Being in this band for the past 12 years has been a true blessing. We’ve gotten to go to places we never knew we would. We’ve been able to see and experience things we never imagined possible. We’ve shared the stage with people we admire, people we look up to, and best of all, our friends. And now, like all great things, it has come time for it to end. Thanks for all your support, and for being part of the adventure. My Chemical Romance.’

That was literally all they said! I was left reading it and wondering if there some kinda hidden message in there somewhere! Because as a band they had a lot of respect for their fan base and this to me and I am sure many others too, feels like a cop-out. I can’t explain properly cause my brain won’t compute the break up but I feel like there is something else going on! For the past 12 years they have had the support of the fans through thick and thin, and all we get when they split is that statement! It feels wrong!

I love this band’s music, they are masters of changing their style and sound and yet still hang on to their fan base as well as making new fans. Not many bands can do that, change their style of music and still keep the vast majority of the fan base! I remember the first time I heard their music from ‘Three Cheers For Sweet Revenge’ and instantly loved every song on the album, I remember buying Kerrang! Magazine and seeing their huge poster of the band in school uniforms with all this fake blood in their faces and just saying “I freaking love this band.” They were different from bands I’d been into, they just had this attitude that really set them apart. From that day onward I lived and breathed My Chemical Romance. I went through their entire back catalog to find all their previous albums too.

There songs spoke to me when I was in a very dark place, when my Mum had cancer for the second time and I was so low, lonely and feeling cut off from everyone, this band saved me from just going into a dark place I wouldn’t have come back from! When my world was crumbling around me for the second time in my life, they saved me! I could put their music on and escape my troubles for a while! They were my outlet. When I listened to them, I didn’t have to listen to my sister putting me down and constantly taking things out on me, (yeah it was a dark time for us all) I didn’t have to see my Dad’s heart break for the second time, I didn’t have to see my Mum hooked up to god knows what in the hospital and I didn’t have to fake a smile and be all “Sure, I’m OK ” when i was far from ok, I could just escape to where ever they took me.

And it’s because of that, I will always have so much respect and love for this band. I just feel like something is missing now like I missed a vital bit of the information and am now seriously confused. Maybe they will reform under another name, who knows but all I do know is that I will never stop listening to their music, they may be gone but they will never be forgotten.

My point is I think the fans are confused as to why they split but whatever the reasons behind the split My Chemical Romance may be done but in our hearts it can never die. I am in my 20’s now but I still love this band and their music and always will.

“Kill joys make some noise.”

KILLJOYS-my-chemical-romance-17544882-1280-800

Leave a Reply

